Insight Banner

Around the House

Find the Key to the Mystery Bookmark

by Nyssa
Find the Key to the Mystery
Bookmark image

Several years ago, I designed a series of four bookmark patterns for Monica Ferris to use as give-aways at the book signings for her Needlework Mystery series. From the reports received, they were a big hit with Monica’s fans at the needlework shops and bookstores.

This is the first bookmark from the series and makes a terrific small project to make for yourself or as a gift.

The design uses only one specialty stitch, the Nun’s Stitch for finishing and the usual cross stitches and a small amount of backstitching for the letters. Once you finish cross stitching the pattern, work the Nun’s Stitch all the way around, then remove the loose threads to create the fringe. No framing or other sewing is needed to complete the project.

The fabric and thread colors aren’t carved in stone. Although the pattern chart calls for Cream 32-count evenweave, if you prefer another background color, have remnants of other colors of evenweave or linen to use up, or would like to do a bookmark in a friend’s favorite colors, go wild and mix and match to your heart’s content! Just remember to use a floss color that matches your fabric for the Nun’s Stitch finishing so it will blend into the background and allow the pattern design to shine through.

Keep in mind that if you select an evenweave or linen fabric in another thread count, you’ll need to re-calculate the amount of fabric needed. For a fabric with more threads per inch such as 36-count, you’ll need less fabric and the finished bookmark with be a bit smaller; for a fabric with fewer threads per inch such as 28-count, you’ll need more fabric and the finished bookmark will be a tad bigger. Best to err on the too-big side than not-enough. Sorry, this pattern isn’t recommended for use with Aida-type fabrics.

If you’re new to doing the Nun’s Stitch, as with other specialty stitches, it’s best to practice on a piece of scrap evenweave or linen fabric before you begin working it around your almost-finished bookmark. The chart has diagrams included that will show you how to work the stitches and how to make the turns at each corner.

To get started, click Find the Key to the Mystery Bookmark Chart to download and save the chart. Print it out full-sized in portrait mode and start choosing the colors of your fabric and fibers.

Once you’ve finished your bookmark, you may be bitten by the bug to do more. Don’t worry! The other bookmark patterns in the series will be posted on our website over the coming months. Keep visiting LogicalInsight.net to find the bookmark patterns and other projects to keep you busy.

Did you use a different fabric or select different colors of floss for the design? If so, we’d love to see your finished project! Email us photographs of your finished bookmarks. We’ll select a few of them to add to this page to share with other stitchers and perhaps inspire them to try new combinations too.